DIY · Life Happens

DIY – From Priceless to Precious

Call me DIY Debbie or Painting Patricia, but don’t call me unimaginative.

I am all for exquisite interior master pieces, but unfortunately my current budget says NOOOOOO your ass too poor for that, so, I became more of a renovator and I want to inspire you to do the same. I want to show you that just because it is home made, it doesn’t have to look cheap.

I was desperate for new wall art, something simplistic yet meaningful, so I decided to buy 3 blank canvasses, get my paint out and create my own art.

You will need

1. 3 blank A4 canvasses – Crazy store R30.00 each.

2. a pencil, rubber and scissors

3. scrap paper (no need for wasting any paper)

4. Paint – I decided to go with black

5. a few different size paintbrushes.

6. an earbud.

7. sushi and some patience, maybe even red wine. 

Now that you have all the gear, you need to be a little creative and decide on the shapes you would like to paint. I love geometric art, purely because straight lines are easy, simplistic and beautiful, like someone once said “being able to bend things most people see as a straight line, makes art freedom.” 

My shapes and their inspiration:

  1. a Lotus – a good friend of mine had a beautiful lotus tattoo’ed on her arm and that was the perfect shape for my first choice. “The lotus represents rebirth, growth and overcoming difficulties while on our journey. Despite everything standing in its way, this flower grows in muddy water yet rises above and pushes through the thick surface to bloom beautifully.” – Carmen Du Toit.
  2.  a Swallow – yes, we know they represent hope and freedom, but more importantly they symbolize love, care and affection towards family and friends. Everyone knows my loyalty towards my family and my close friends, no matter where I go I will always return to them – they are my home.
  3. a Pineapple – I am just obsessed with pineapples so this was a no-brainer.

Step 1. Using your scrap paper, draw your pattern, making a stencil for your canvas. – this helps you to rectify any mistakes before you turn to the canvas. I did this purely because I want the background of my image to stay as white as possible, so my drawing needs to be perfect. 

unnamed

Step 2. After you completed all 3 shapes cut them out as perfect as possible to create your stencil.

unnamed (2)

 Step 3. This is the easy part; now just trace the stencil to the canvas, do this slowly to ensure you don’t make any mistakes. tip: I used small pieces of sellotape to keep my image from moving around while I trace it down, when you remove the sellotape just connect the  small lines carefully. 

unnamed (3)

unnamed (4)

Step 4. Get yourself some sushi take away, poor a glass of red wine, let the music play and start painting. This is the part where patience is key, the lines are close together so take your time – DON’T RUSH! tip: for the corners, use the earbud and dot some paint before using the brush to create a straight line.

 

Now that you are done, let your art dry.

 

 

 

 

See, as simple as that and I have to say I am in love with the outcome of my work.

unnamed (6)

Elizabeth Broun explained it perfectly: “art is not always about pretty things, it’s about who we are, what happened to us and how our lives are affected.” Make art your therapy when decorating, it will suit you mood and your budget.

Till next time.

Love

xxx

logolicious_20170222_073937

Leave a Reply

