Life Happens

DIY – transfer image to wood, gift idea…

It’s that time of the year; Christmas decorations are starting to fill store aisles, Christmas music will soon be all you hear when going, well, anywhere and most of us are starting to get nervous regarding gifts. Some might say it’s too soon, but take a moment to realize you have 9 weeks…

Yes, 9 weeks till Christmas!

Scary thought, but non the less, let me inspire you a little to do something special this year and I can assure you, you will not break the bank-BONUS. Today I want to show you how pinterest inspired me to transfer pictures to wood, now I have tried this for a birthday gift and I will add; pretty impressed. πŸ™‚

You will need:

20161010_173650

  • Lazer printed pictures – yes it has to be lazer printed, but on normal paper, nothing fancy when it comes to the paper – already impressed? TIP:Β When printing text make sure you mirror the test before you use it.
  • Wood – any kind, that is your prerogative. My advise: take your photos down to Mica in Durbanville, ask for my new best friend Rico. This champion measured my photos and cut the wood for me accordingly – really the nicest guy EVER!
  • wooden photo stands OR you can add lint with nails and hang them up – again, your prerogative.
  • gel medium
  • mod podge
  • paint
  • paint brushes
  • sponge and some water

Side note: after completing step 1 you need to wait 24 hours before continuing to step 2, so if you are impatient- no shame, I surely am, my advise will be to do this before dinner. This way you will be able to eat, have a shower, sleep, go to work and when you come home you can continue.

STEP 1: Using gel medium cover the entire picture, I added some on the wood as well. Place the picture on the wood make sure to gently press the image down and get rid of all air bubbles. Now the wait, let it set for 24 hours.

I went ahead and painted my wooden photo stands and have them dry along with my pictures. After dinner it’s shower timeΒ and bed time..

20161010_204034

I have to say, I was a bit nervous. What if it doesn’t work? then I am screwed AF for gifts before the birthday dinner. But let’s continue and see how it goes…

STEP 2: take a wet cloth and cover your first image while setting up a work space (haveΒ a glass of wine just to calm down). Now using your sponge and water, in a circular motion start rubbing the paper from the wood. Be gentle, unless you want the rustic look, you might remove some of the image. Looking at the image below you will see why you need to mirror the text before you apply it.

Make sure to remove all paper residue from the wood. When you have cleared all images (I had 6 pictures to do)

STEP 3: Cover all wood images with the mod podge by painting it on, let that dry.

20161011_204016

I have to say I did a bit of a happy dance when I saw my creations and I loved it. So easy, so cheap and so special.

20161012_180959.jpg

I will add, when it comes to gifts I would much rather go through extreme lengths to make it special and meaningful than expensive and prepping it for a box in the back of a cupboard.Β 

I love the rustic look for either mounting them up on a wall or placing them on a table. Let me know what you think.

Cheers to another project, tried, tested and approved.Β 

One thought on “DIY – transfer image to wood, gift idea…

Leave a Reply

